How To Disable Background App Refresh On Cellular Data In iOS 11 and Above

One perfect way to avoid battery charge on an iOS device is to disable background app refresh. There’s actually an inbuilt option that allows you to disable background app refresh. You’ll be able to disable it, however, you can still selectively allow your most vital apps to refresh in the background. With iOS 11 and above, there’s a new option that allows you to disable background app refresh on cellular data alone, but enable it on Wi-Fi. This allows you to keep the feature on once you’re within, and save on battery and data when you’re on the go.

Disable Background App Refresh On Cellular Data

Open the Settings app and head over to General>Background App Refresh. Tap the ‘Background App Refresh’ option. In iOS 10 and older versions, this used to be an easy switch. In iOS 11 and above, this option is a menu. The options below this menu are; off, Wi-Fi, and Wi-Fi & Cellular Data.

If you would like to turn off background app refresh, choose the ‘Off’ option. you return to the previous menu and selectively enable background app refresh for a few apps of your choice. To disable background app refresh on cellular data, simply select the ‘Wi-Fi’ option. Again, you can go back to the main Background App Refresh screen and selectively enable background app refresh for your most important apps.

background app refresh on ios

Limiting Background App Refresh

When you disable background app refresh, apps like Twitter and Facebook don’t fetch new data often. This does not only helps reduce battery usage but also will reduce data usage. Once you open these apps, they fetch new data i.e. load new pictures, videos etc. At this time, your data, whether you’re on your cellular network or connected to a wireless network are used. you can not avoid it but, you may still save some battery on your device with the app not refreshing every time in the background.

Background app refresh isn’t the same as allowing or disallowing cellular data for apps. If you disable background app refresh on cellular data, apps can still have access to the internet once you’re on your cellular plan unless you’ve specifically switched it off under Settings>Cellular.

Turning off background app refresh might lead to a somewhat lesser experience in some of your apps. You will still get alerts from the apps but the content of the apps will download only if you open the app. For mail apps, this won’t be an issue unless you have got a very large attachment that needs to be downloaded. Your social media apps will certainly appear slower although as most of the content is images and videos and it’ll take time to load new content. If you make use of Snapchat a lot, you might consider enabling travel mode to avoid save your data.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *